Notifications
Clear all

Saving presets not working properly  

  RSS

Holmwoody
(@holmwoody)
Eminent Member
Joined: 4 months ago
Posts: 20
November 11, 2020 6:18 pm  

Does anyone else have problems saving presets in 1.21 ?

When I load a preset and then add a few more layers to the mix, if I try and ‘save as’ (not update!) I change the name of the preset and try to save it. The preset saves with the new layers included but it doesn’t change the name of the preset, effectively just overwriting the old preset.


Quote
getdunne
(@getdunne)
Member Admin
Joined: 1 year ago
Posts: 1579
November 11, 2020 6:25 pm  

@holmwoody

I tested and can not reproduce this. Please provide more details, and specify whether you're on Mac or Windows please.


ReplyQuote
Leszek 1953
(@leszek-1953)
Member
Joined: 1 year ago
Posts: 167
November 11, 2020 10:36 pm  

(@getdunne)

Is version 1.2.1 already released? if so, where can you download it?

 

Les.


ReplyQuote
Leszek 1953
(@leszek-1953)
Member
Joined: 1 year ago
Posts: 167
November 11, 2020 10:39 pm  

(@getdunne)

Sorry, I already found it.

Les.


ReplyQuote
Holmwoody
(@holmwoody)
Eminent Member
Joined: 4 months ago
Posts: 20
November 18, 2020 2:40 pm  

@getdunne  Hi Shane, sorry for slow response, not had time to re-address the problem until now. I am on Windows 10 and using the latest Unify version. When I load a preset in Unify from the Unify preset browser, I can then load further layers under it (using the right mouse button!!). I then go to Save, Save as,  and enter a folder name and new name for the preset............. in fact I just use the same preset name with something like 'plus guitar' added to it. When I then come to look at the list of presets in the Unify Browser, I then find TWO instances of the original named preset, not the original and the 'original plus guitar'. This hasn't happened to me before the update to 1.2. Before I had no problems.

When I open either of the two identical named presets they now both have the original preset plus the extra layer.

You can see from the attached Pic that two of the presets are repeated, though in each case the second one had an additional layer added by me before saving it. It's baffling me.


ReplyQuote
getdunne
(@getdunne)
Member Admin
Joined: 1 year ago
Posts: 1579
November 18, 2020 2:47 pm  

@holmwoody

You need to change the preset name (e.g. add something like "plus my cool layers" at the end) and select a different library name in the Unify Save dialog. Just changing the folder and/or file name doesn't change the patch name.

It's natural to assume that library name = folder name, and file name = patch name, but that's not correct. Please see https://pluginguru.net/unify/manual/doku.php?id=playing-patches#patch_names_vs_file_names_and_some_tips

The reason you're seeing two entries in the patch browser is that you have basically created a second patch file with the same patch name, in a different location on the disk.


ReplyQuote
Holmwoody
(@holmwoody)
Eminent Member
Joined: 4 months ago
Posts: 20
November 18, 2020 3:42 pm  

@getdunne  Many thanks. I will stop scratching my head!!!


ReplyQuote
Share: