Notifications
Clear all

Auto Recognition of Audio Drivers .. when changed

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
40 Views
(@uisbf)
Eminent Member
Joined: 10 months ago
Posts: 15
Topic starter  

Hi guys, 
what happens to me quite often - like everyday is a thing which is really a bit annoying,
hope there is a solution for it like audio probes or whatever.

Me am Use the A&H SQ6 as my Audio Interface in studio and live at stage a SQ5 and when am at home I simply have my macbook audio drivers with headphones, but soon will maybe switch to a NI Machine MK3 ..

Everytime I switch places - the recognition of my devices are lost.
So I have to go to the menu, sometimes even (as the driver is already selected) select another,
go back and select the one I need - then change the audio buffer size (with my M32 Max I usually have 64 which works quite well) ..
Then I need to change the selected channels of my midi devices as this also changes and I have different keyboards ..

So what could be a solution here:
A ONE CLICK:
a) select STUDIO setup (named by myself) and all changes drivers are initialized all works

b) select another setup like live - all works

c) do changes - save to connection setup ..

d) export as I use an iMax at stage .. or even better sync 2 Unify instances at the same network (guess now Steffen, this is too much - am kidding its a whish at my personal wishlist .. )

Would be nice to have the connection setups - would help a lot 😉 

Greets, Steffen


   
Quote
(@getdunne)
Illustrious Member Admin
Joined: 4 years ago
Posts: 4292
 

So you'd like to have the ability to define more than one set of Audio / MIDI settings, and choose among them quickly? I have added this to the to-do list, but am unlikely to get to this anytime soon.

In the meantime, you can try the following as a work-around.

  1. Set up your audio/MIDI settings for the first hardware configuration--let's suppose it's STUDIO.
  2. Quit Unify and locate the Unify.settings file, which on a Mac is found in /Library/Application Support/PlugInGuru (under the system-wide /Library, not your per-user ~/Library folder). Duplicate that file, and call the duplicate e.g. Unify-Studio.settings.
  3. Switch to the other hardware configuration--e.g. LIVE, then start Unify and choose appropriate audio/MIDI settings again.
  4. Quit Unify and again and duplicate the Unify.settings file again, renaming the duplicate as e.g. Unify-Live.settings.
  5. Whenever you move your Mac to the other hardware set-up, BEFORE running Unify, go to the /Library/Application Support/PlugInGuru folder, delete the current Unify.settings file, duplicate the appropriate one you made in steps 2 and 4, and rename the duplicate Unify.settings. Run Unify, and it should immediately connect to the correct hardware.

Unify stores the current audio/midi settings data inside the Unify.settings file, along with many other settings. I'm basically saying you can create two copies of that file, which are identical except for the audio/midi settings data, then switch between them by duplicating/renaming the appropriate one.

If you are skilled with the Mac Terminal app, you can use symbolic links to achieve the same result more quickly. Once you create your Unify-Studio.settings and Unify-Live.settings files, put the original Unify.settings file in the Trash and, in a Terminal window, enter e.g.:

cd /Library/Application\ Support\PlugInGuru
ln -s Unify-Live.settings Unify.settings

The example above creates a new Unify.settings file which is a symbolic link to Unify-Live.settings. When you go to the studio you would enter:

cd /Library/Application\ Support/PlugInGuru
ln -s Unify-Studio.settings Unify.settings

Make sure to only do this when NO instances of Unify are running.

Finally, because Unify stores lots of other settings in the current Unify.settings file, if you change any other settings, the changes will only get saved into one of your two settings files, so you'll need to re-do those changes again when you return to the other hardware set-up. If you're using symbolic links, this will work very smoothly. If you're duplicating and renaming files, you'll need to copy the other way e.g.

  1. Delete Unify-Studio.settings or Unify-Live.settings file (whichever one matches the current hardware set-up).
  2. Duplicate Unify.settings and rename it as Unify-Studio.settings or Unify-Live.settings (whichever one you just deleted).

   
ReplyQuote
Share: